Judges of the Federal Court of Canada as at January 1, 1977

Chief Justice, Hon. Wilbur Roy Jackett (appointed June 1, 1971)

Associate Chief Justice, Hon. Arthur Louis Thurlow (appointed to Court of Appeal, June 1, 1971; appointed Associate Chief Justice, December 4, 1975)

Court of Appeal Judges: Hon. Louis Pratte (appointed to Trial Division, June 10, 1971; appointed to Court of Appeal, March 5, 1973), Hon. Darrel Verner Heald (appointed to Trial Division, July 9, 1971; appointed to Court of Appeal, December 4, 1975), Hon. John J. Urie (appointed June 8, 1973), Hon. William F. Ryan (appointed April 11, 1974), Hon. Gerald Eric Le Dain (appointed September 1, 1975)

Trial Division Judges: Hon. Angus Alexander Cattanach (appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Hugh Francis Gibson (appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Allison Arthur Mariotti Walsh (appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Frank U. Collier (appointed September 16, 1971), Hon. George A. Addy (appointed September 17, 1973), Hon. Patrick M. Mahoney PC (appointed September 17, 1973), Hon. Raymond G. Decary (appointed September 17, 1973), Hon. Jean-Eudes Dubé PC (appointed April 24, 1975), Hon. Louis Marceau (appointed December 23, 1975)

Deputy Judges of the Federal Court (Section 60(3), Federal Court Act): Hon. Robert S. Furlong, Hon. Dalton C. Wells.

Miscellaneous courts. The Railway Act, 1903 (RSC 1970, c.R-2) established the Board of Railway Commissioners for Canada as a court of record; by the Transport Act, 1938 (RSC 1970, c.T-14) the name was changed to the Board of Transport Commissioners for Canada, and by the National Transportation Act, 1967 (RSC 1970, c.N-17) to the Canadian Transport Commission. This court exercises jurisdiction with respect to transport matters under the Railway Act, the Aeronautics Act, the Transport Act and the National Transportation Act, and with respect to telegraph and telephone matters under the Railway Act. The Governor in Council is given jurisdiction to vary or rescind any order of the commission and an appeal lies from the commission to the Supreme Court of Canada on a question of jurisdiction or of law.

By virtue of Section 91(21) of the British North America Act, 1867, Parliament has exclusive legislative jurisdiction in relation to bankruptcy and insolvency. By the Bankruptcy Act (RSC 1970, c.B-3) the superior courts of the provinces are constituted *bankruptcy courts*; original jurisdiction is conferred upon the trial courts and appellate jurisdiction is conferred upon the appeal courts of the provinces.

The Tax Review Board, created in 1949 as the Income Tax Appeal Board and later changed to the Tax Appeal Board, now operates under the Tax Review Board Act 1970 (SC 1970-71, c.11). The board is a court of record and has jurisdiction to hear appeals by taxpayers against their assessment under the Income Tax Act and also appeals under the Estate Tax Act, the Old Age Security Act and certain sections of the Canada Pension Plan. An appeal lies from the board to the Federal Court of Canada and a further appeal from that court to the Supreme Court of Canada.

The Court Martial Appeal Court was established in 1959 by an amendment to the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The judges of the court are not fewer than four judges of the Federal Court of Canada designated by the Governor in Council and such additional judges of a superior court of criminal jurisdiction as are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Governor in Council designates one of the judges to be president of the court. The court hears appeals from courts martial respecting the legality of a finding of guilty on any charge and the legality of a sentence passed by a court martial. An appeal lies from the Court Martial Appeal Court to the Supreme Court of Canada on a question of law only.

The Immigration Appeal Board was established in 1967 by the Immigration Appeal Board Act (RSC 1970, c.1-3). The board is a court of record, with a broad discretionary jurisdiction with respect to temporary or permanent admission of individuals into Canada, and to hear appeals from decisions or orders under the Immigration Act. The establishing act provides for the operation of the board and